Raceway Ford

5900 Sycamore Canyon Blvd
Riverside, CA 92507

Visit Website

4.9 rating of Raceway Ford
4.9 out of 5

99% Recommended

Based on 343 Sales and 2 Service Reviews

Write Review

Ratings 4.9
Search Area
Time Frame
1 Star Rating
Overall Experience
The purpose of my email is to share my experience at your establishment and to let other consumers know that there is a huge lack of communication, professionalism and common courtesy within your service department following my interaction with that department and with the Service Director, Mr. Glenn Morris.

My experience with Raceway Ford began 08/24/18 in the afternoon hours. The day prior my car would not go into gear and I was left stranded on the road w/my son. I had my car towed into a local repair shop that afternoon and on Friday morning I received a call noting the issue was a broken shifter cable; to which, I was advised I should have my car towed into a Ford dealership for repair as this was a recall issue. I was attending a memorial service that morning and had my car towed into Raceway as soon as I was done.

When I arrived I meet with Alan Leon and advised him what was going on. I provided Mr. Leon the invoice of the repair shop and also the recall notice from Ford. I was advised that since it was a Friday afternoon he would not be able to have a tech look at the car until Monday. I inquired about the cost of repair and who was going to pay for this as it was a recall issue. When he looked at the recall letter I provided, he noted he was unsure as the letter stated there are no parts. I was then provided with an 800# to Ford to address these specific questions/concerns I had as no answers coming from the service provider who took my car in.

I went outside and called the Ford Motor Company. I returned back into the service department and advised that them I was going around in circles on an automated system, I was unable to reaching anyone and I needed some answers. He then called and was able to reach a call center at FMC. While on the phone with FMC at his desk – Fords position was no parts and I would have to repair and submit the cost for out of pocket to them directly. I was visually upset, and at no point did the service advisor provide any details as to how this recall works for the customer. I left that day with the knowledge that I would have to be paying for this myself after your dealership confirmed a diagnosis of the issue.

Fast forward to Sat 08/25/18- I receive a text message from Mr. Leon, which I was not able to respond to right away. Once I responded, I never got a courtesy text of an acknowledgement or a reply addressing my concerns to him (Please see the 1st attachment). I then followed up on Monday morning to confirm if my text was received and why I had not been provided a response. Mr. Leon noted that he never received my message. I’m am sure there is a way you can confirm or deny as I don’t see the point in providing this service if messages are not received... Still no answer regarding the diagnosis of the car, again I verbally talked with Alan regarding the text / concerns I had written in that message. I advised I had picked up a rental car the day before and needed answers as I was expected to pay for this out of my own pocket (repairs and rental). I was provided no assistance what so ever. Not to mention the fact there is a rental car facility on your premises, to which I was not even directed to, and the advisor knew my concerns of that from the beginning.

The afternoon of 08/27/18 – I got a call noting it was the shifter cable the repair would cost somewhere in the range of $600 (if I remember correctly as this was not provided in writing) and that it would take 2-3 days to get the part in. I again explained my concerns and it being a recall issue and was advised by the advisor the good news is its recall – you will be able to seek reimbursement from Ford. Again, my concerns were expressed 2-3 days and I was paying for a rental car and these answers were unacceptable. I then shared other concerns regarding the price I was quoted for the repair and the fact that parts seems to be available at other dealerships as I called them not to mention calling the 1st place I took my car to and confirmed they had the part on their shelf (the shifter cable that was broken) and I was not understanding why it was taking them 2-3 days for the part and the 1st place quoted me almost $300 cheaper for the repair and noted that they could have had my car completed by that Friday (08/24/18).

I contemplated having my car towed for a third time back to the 1st shop but the more I thought of it, my fear was that FMC would not honor diagnosis/repair from someone other than Ford. Which the service department could not or would not answer either; as noted before they did not provide any assistance to me regarding this recall issue; I had a whole lot of questions that kept building over the period of time; that I had shared with service.

On 08/28/18, I went in to speak with the GM of Raceway Ford as I simply felt very uncomfortable with the level of service I was being given or lack thereof. I expressed my concerns and Paul then went over to speak with the service department. He came back advising that they were going to repair at a $50 cost to me and but the parts would not be available for 2-3 days. At this point I was still under the impression that repair would consist of the broken shifter cable as I was never advised otherwise.

On Thursday, after work I reached out as I had heard from no one on the status of the parts at about 4:30pm. I was advised by Mr. Leon that the parts did not make it in and that they did not know when they would arrive and could not provide me a status. On 08/31/18 (Friday) afternoon, I received a phone call from Mr. Leon telling me he had good news for me, that Ford sent in the parts and they would have my car ready for me by Saturday afternoon about noon, that I didn’t have to pay the $50 (goodwill) and that I would not have to come back as this would fix the recall issue as Ford Motor Company had sent the bushing in for the repair. I still have several questions and concerns regarding the actual shifter cable and if in fact it had been repaired as it was noted as broken. All I was told was that it was fixed. I picked up my car on 09/01/18.

On 09/09/18 my car began stalling out while at a light, when driving and was sluggishly rearing forward. The car was dropped off on Sunday and keys were left in the box. I got a call from Mr. Leon on Monday morning at 7:15am, to confirm what was happening – that it was not the issue as the recall. I explained yes, but the fact of the matter was my car was not doing this at all prior to me bringing the car to this establishment on 08/24/18. On Monday afternoon I still had not been provided an update and placed a call to Mr. Leon at approx. 4:45pm, he advised that his tech had just got to my car about a ½ hour ago, he had no update but expected to have one by tomorrow morning.

I received no call the next morning, so I had my son call as I was in meetings that morning with work. At about 9-930 my son called me noting it was going to be $1300 for repair which included the air compressor (which was bad and causing the car to stall) along with a new rear tire. Apparently, when my son called, Alan transferred him over to the Service Director where my son was advised by Mr. Morris that I need to take responsibility for my car at some point.

I called Alan back to gain some clarity on the issue when I was available, expressed my concern regarding the issue not being present upon me bringing my car in on 08/24/18. I advised him that I would be in there verbally and via email about 12:15pm to get my car. (See 3rd attachment). I followed up via email asking for the diagnostic testing/readings to be send over to me via email along with the old bushings part number and the new part number and asked him to confirm for me if the shifter cable was replaced. At that same time, I provided Mr. Leon my credit card information for the $130 diagnostic fee, my CC was ran but I was not provided the information via his response to my email. When I arrived at approx. 12:20pm, Mr. Leon was not present (when Mr. Leon knew what time I was coming in). My paperwork was sitting on his desk and Jim Moore attempted to assist. My credit card was ran at 11:34am, Mr. Leon runs my card at the same time he provides a response to my email and fails to provided my requested documentation via email as requested (my email was sent at 11:16am).

Mr. Moore attempted to assist. I asked for the old invoice and to confirm the old part number for the bushing was present on the invoice along with the new part number. Mr. Moore was not able to find an old part number, I noted I needed that as I requested in my email prior to me coming down here. I also requested a printout of the diagnostic performed that determined the Air Compressor was the issue; IE: OBD codes – which Mr. Moore noted there would not be any for this issue. Of further concerns I was requesting something that showed what the issue was for the diagnostic I just paid $130 for. Not to mention my concern that this issue was not present prior to me brining my car in on 08/24/18; the complete run around with that issue – lack of communication and the feeling that was displayed that the dealership was not here to assist me at all.

Mr. Moore than took me to Mr. Morris office, to which I attempt to explain to him what I was looking for- all diagnoses/readings/tests completed something other than an invoice to show me what the $130 consisted of. The fact that I had emailed his advisor letting him know what I was requesting, my arrival time and yet his advisor was not there? I asked him to confirm if the shifter cable was fixed and after a run around I was advised no. He then noted that he was the one that authorized the shifter cable to be fixed at $50 charge to me but since the bushings came in from Ford that is what was done. My son, then states oh a band aid fix uh. I again expressed concerns that the current issue was not present prior to my car coming in on 08/24/18, the fact that he told my son that I need to take responsibility for my car, I have a gut feeling that his department did something to my car when it was brought in on 08/24/18 and come out on 09/01/18. I took the paperwork (that was sitting on Mr. Leon desk) and walked out of his office and went to my car.

He comes out the door not too far behind me- I was at my car door already. He shouts – you need to pay your bills and you stole my paperwork. I immediately responded to him saying excuse me? Your advisor had all my credit card info at 11:16am when I sent it to him via email to run the fee – and requesting my paperwork. Mr. Morris stands in front of the door as I am walking back into the door – does not move his large body seeming to attempt to intimidate me , at which point I had to sternly say to him – excuse me and let me thought the door. Mr. Morris then gets into my son’s face at which time Mr. Morris was asked by my son – “What his problem was” to which Mr. Morris replied “You”.

I then noted, “what is it, that I needed to come back in here for – Mr. Morris” – “You need to sign the receipt” to which I had a Raceway pen to sign and I turned to walk out (after I signed) with the pen in my hand and Mr. Morris comments that I am stealing the pen that belongs to Raceway. A t this point I was so distraught with the way I was being treated and appalled I was accuses of stealing paper work, that I didn’t notice I had a pen in my hand.

As we then walk out the door, we looked over at Mr. Morris, who is now standing by Mr. Moore desk, and is blowing kisses with his hand bringing it up to his mouth and waving his hand as if he was throwing kisses to us.

The bottom line, your customer service level coming from an advisor, not to mention the behavior of your “Director” is completely unacceptable. From the beginning I was provided the run around from your service department. They were not helpful or willing to do anything until I spoke with the GM on 08/28/18 regarding the issues. It is my belief that the service department did something to my car which necessitated the return on 09/09/18.

I will be getting a full check / evaluation of my car and although I may never be able to prove that your service department did something to my vehicle while in their possession from 08/24/18-09/01/18, I am bringing my experience with detail to the attention of upper management along with posting reviews everywhere I can.

I wonder if I had not gone to the GM – would the service department have charged me for the bushing repair that was completed (which I know that part is peanuts in terms of dollar amount vs. repairing the shifter cable) then submitted a claim to Ford? Is my shifter cable actually broke? Is it still broke? I confirmed it was not replaced. What is the old part number of the bushing? I was only provided the Vehicle Report Card (and only after much resistance from Mr. Morris), which I was never provided that on my 1st visit with your establishment only the invoice was provided. I would appreciate the 1st Vehicle Report Card be forward to me ASAP.

I do thank you for your time and attention to this issue. You may not help me but hopefully it will help the next customer who goes in there after me.
Riverside, CA
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
No pressure sales. Salesman Mike was very knowledgeable and friendly from start to finish. The whole team at Raceway Ford are top notch.
Riverside, CA Assisted by Mark Borsack
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
Steve was very professional and made us feel very comfortable during the leasing process. We will definitely be back when we decide to lease or buy another vehicle!! Thanks Steve!
I love my new 2018 Ford Explorer!
Banning, CA Assisted by Steve Overton
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
Great service!!! sellsman was awesome
Love my new Ford Fusion!!!
Moreno Valley, CA Assisted by Edwin Taboada
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
Excellent response, the van of our choice was delivered from San Diego within hours of our stepping onto the dealership..
Assisted by Mark Borsack
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
My wife and I had a great buying experience. Edwin was able to help us right when we got there. He was friendly and attentive. My wife and I never felt rushed or pressured throughout the process. Edwin and the team were able to get us a good deal with lenders. I’m very satsfired with the service and my car. Highly recommend Edwin and the team here if you’re looking for your next car.
Redlands, CA Assisted by Edwin Taboada
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
Sales rep Edwin Taboada was very professional and patient. He explained several things about the car and very helpful with the overall process. The overall experience was excellent from time of our arrival until we left with the car.
Moreno Valley, CA Assisted by Edwin Taboada
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
Lisa, Mark, Alfredo and AJ were great and made everything so easy!
Assisted by Mark Borsack
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
Ismael and Edwin were awesome! Very knowledgeable are hard working and courteous.
Assisted by Edwin Taboada
5 Star Rating
Overall Experience
Absolutely great experience. Thanks guys!
Riverside, CA Assisted by Mark Borsack